Amir Karim, ambassador, MBA 1992

Amir Karim, MBA

President and Chief Executive Officer
Polykar Inc.

“There is no doubt in my mind that my MBA was the most important degree of my career.”

Amir Karim graduated with an MBA from HEC Montréal in 1992, and rose through the ranks of family-owned Polykar Inc., a key Québec manufacturer of industrial packaging materials and recycled garbage bags. Through a combination of leadership and expertise, he was able to make a genuine difference in his sector of activity by rendering the latter more competitive, more innovative and more ecologically focused.

As a young boy, Amir Karim dreamt of space, as in outer space, and wanted to become an astronaut. His ambition took him to the University of Toronto where he completed an undergraduate degree in aerospace engineering. Very quickly, however, he felt himself drawn to the world of business, a passion which led him to the halls of HEC Montréal, a school he chose for reasons of international renown and the possibility of studying alongside students from across the globe. His aim was to get a degree from a French-language institution to counterbalance his degree from an English-language university.

“I owe a great deal to my MBA from HEC Montréal. When I graduated in 1992, the country was in the throes of a recession. Having my MBA enabled me to stand out in the workplace and secure a job despite challenging economic times.”

Amir Karim experienced the thrill of the fast-paced world of finance when he worked in the ‘Big Apple’ for Goldman Sachs. Once again, he is convinced that his MBA from HEC Montréal played a determining role in the decision by the famed New York firm to hire him. “My MBA training exposed me to diverse facets of the world of business: finance, marketing and human resources. All told, they have served me well in the exercise of my functions throughout my career.”

Amir Karim further underscores that his MBA from HEC Montréal allowed him to build a solid network of contacts. “To this day, I conduct business with people I met while studying for my MBA over 25 years ago. I have also remained in contact with a number of my professors.”

Amir is extremely proud to be an ambassador for the MBA program at HEC Montréal. “When one is successful, I believe that it is important to give back to the school that trained us and opened the doors to a world of opportunity.”

The first word which comes to mind to sum up his MBA: success!

Other ambassadors

Amir Karim, ambassadeur, MBA 1992

Amir Karim, MBA

Président et directeur général, Polykar Inc.

« Le MBA a été le diplôme le plus important pour ma carrière. Il n’y a aucun doute là-dessus. »

Détenteur d’un MBA de HEC Montréal depuis 1992, Amir Karim évolue depuis une vingtaine d’années au sein de l’entreprise familiale Polykar inc., un fleuron québécois dans la fabrication de produits d’emballage industriels et de sacs à déchets recyclés. Fort de son leadership et de son expertise, il a su faire une vraie différence dans son secteur d’activité en le rendant plus concurrentiel, novateur et écologique.

Jeune, Amir Karim rêve d’espace, de grands espaces… Il veut devenir astronaute!  Cette ambition le mène à l’Université de Toronto où il fait des études au baccalauréat en génie aérospatial.  Toutefois, très vite après sa graduation, il se sent attiré par le monde des affaires.  Sa passion le conduit sur les bancs de HEC Montréal, une école qu’il choisit pour sa réputation internationale et la possibilité de côtoyer des étudiants qui viennent de partout dans le monde. Il souhaite également acquérir un diplôme d’une institution francophone, étant déjà gradué d’une université anglophone

« Je dois beaucoup à mon MBA de HEC Montréal.  Au moment de ma graduation en 1992, le pays était en pleine récession. Le fait d’avoir un MBA m’a permis de me démarquer sur le marché du travail et de trouver un emploi malgré la situation économique difficile. »

Amir Karim a connu le monde trépidant de la finance lorsqu’il travaillait dans la Grosse Pomme pour Goldman Sachs.  Encore là, il est convaincu que son diplôme MBA de HEC Montréal a joué pour beaucoup dans la décision d’embauche de cette réputée firme newyorkaise.  « Cette formation m’a exposé à diverses facettes du monde des affaires : les finances, le marketing, les ressources humaines. Des atouts qui m’ont servi dans l’exercice de mes fonctions tout au long de ma carrière. 

Amir Karim insiste également pour dire que le MBA de HEC Montréal lui a permis de bâtir un solide réseau de contacts. « Encore aujourd’hui, je fais des affaires avec des gens que j’ai fréquentés au MBA il y a 25 ans et je suis toujours en contact avec certains de mes professeurs.»

Il est très fier d’être un des ambassadeurs du programme de MBA de HEC Montréal. « Lorsqu’on a du succès, il est important selon moi de redonner à l’école qui nous a formés et qui nous a ouvert tout un monde d’opportunités. » 

Le premier mot qui lui vient en tête pour résumer son MBA.  Succès !

D’autres ambassadeurs