Kathy Baig, ambassador, MBA 2014

Kathy Baig, eng., FEC, MBA

President
Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec

“An MBA was a natural choice for me.”

Kathy Baig, who graduated with an MBA from HEC Montréal in 2014, is president of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec. When she took up her post in 2016, the organization was in the throes of a serious crisis.“My MBA gave me the confidence and the tools I need to find solutions.”

Today, Kathy can be justifiably proud of the road travelled to date. Her exceptional contribution to the organization earned her a number of distinctions and a place in the 2019 ranking of Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 which recognizes Canadians under the age of 40 having distinguished themselves in their respective fields of endeavour.

Her penchant for positions of influence is nothing recent. This young 38-year-old, daughter of a Québec mother and Pakistani father, has consistently sought out positions that would allow her to make a difference and make things happen. “Whereas some fellow women colleagues advocated militancy, I pictured my future as leader of an organization.”

Following studies in chemical engineering at Polytechnique Montréal, and subsequently at the National Institute of Applied Sciences in Toulouse, Kathy Baig undertook a career in engineering. During the more than 10 years she worked in the large corporate sector, she obtained a graduate diploma in management from HEC Montréal, and then an MBA from the same institution.

“HEC Montréal’s MBA was a natural choice for me, if only owing to the institution’s reputation.” Kathy especially enjoyed the case study approach and group discussions aimed at devising the best possible strategies.

Her MBA training allowed her to develop multiple skills which are as important to her in her professional life as they are to her in her personal life. It is not surprising that the term ‘enriching’ was the first that came to mind when asked to sum up her MBA.

This young woman with many outstanding achievements to her credit points up that an MBA must not be viewed as a passport to the top of an organization. “One must demonstrate a broad measure of open-mindedness and be spurred by a compelling desire to learn, to develop and to expand one’s network. In approaching the MBA in this manner, one maximizes its overall value.”

Other ambassadors

Kathy Baig, ambassadrice, MBA 2014

Kathy Baig, ing., FIC, MBA

Présidente – Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec

« Le MBA a été un choix naturel pour moi »

Détentrice d’un MBA de HEC Montréal depuis 2014, Kathy Baig est présidente de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec. Au moment où elle entre en poste en 2016, l’organisation traverse une crise importante. « Le MBA m’a donné la confiance et les outils dont j’avais besoin pour trouver des solutions. »

Aujourd’hui, elle a de quoi être très fière du chemin parcouru! Sa contribution exceptionnelle au sein de cette organisation lui a valu plusieurs distinctions dont celle d’être nommée en 2019 au palmarès Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 qui récompense les Canadiens de moins de 40 ans s’étant particulièrement illustrés dans leur domaine respectif.

Son intérêt pour les positions d’influence ne date pas d’hier. La jeune femme de 38 ans, fille d’une mère québécoise et d’un père pakistanais, a toujours voulu occuper des fonctions qui lui permettraient de faire bouger les choses. « Alors que certaines consœurs souhaitaient agir comme militantes, c’est plutôt en tant que leader d’une organisation que j’entrevoyais mon avenir. »

Après des études en génie chimique à Polytechnique Montréal, puis à l’Institut national des sciences appliquées de Toulouse, Kathy Baig fait carrière en ingénierie pendant plus de 10 ans au sein de grandes entreprises. Parallèlement, elle obtient un diplôme d’études supérieures spécialisées en gestion de HEC Montréal, puis un MBA au sein de la même institution.

« Le MBA de HEC Montréal a été un choix naturel, notamment à cause de la réputation de l’établissement. » Elle a particulièrement apprécié l’approche par études de cas et les discussions collectives qui permettent de faire émerger les meilleures stratégies.

Sa formation MBA lui a permis de développer de nombreuses compétences qui lui sont tout aussi indispensables comme gestionnaire que dans sa vie personnelle. Il n’est pas étonnant que le mot « enrichissant » soit le premier qui lui vienne en tête pour résumer son MBA !

Cette femme aux réalisations hors du commun précise que le MBA ne doit pas être vu comme un passeport automatique vers les sommets d’une organisation. « Il faut y entrer avec une grande ouverture d’esprit, en ayant un réel désir d’apprendre, de s’améliorer et d’élargir son réseau. En abordant le MBA de cette façon, on en maximise vraiment la valeur. »

D’autres ambassadeurs