Michael Vineberg, ambassador, MBA 2003

Michael Vineberg, MBA ICD.D

President
Portage Advisors Inc.

“I cannot imagine doing the work that I do today without the tools and experience acquired during my MBA training.”

Michael Vineberg graduated with an MBA from HEC Montréal in 2003 and enjoys over twenty years of experience in business transformation. As chief executive, director or consultant, Michael has helped any number of companies restructure and expand.

Fascinated by the world of the stock market and investing, Michael Vineberg dreamt of becoming stock broker. However, life ended up taking him in an altogether different direction. Fresh out of McGill University with a degree in economics and management, he landed his first job as an investment consultant. In this capacity, surrounded by seasoned sectoral professionals, he ably perfected the tools of his trade.

The idea of doing an MBA came about quite naturally when a friend told him that he had just enrolled in the program. “I loved my job but knew that I had much more to learn. And I was right!” Michael particularly liked the one-year format of the program, the teaching methodology based on case studies, and the opportunity to study alongside young professionals from the four corners of the earth.

His MBA training continues to serve him in his day-to-day activities. He likens the program to a toolbox that one uses constantly. “I approach problems from new angles and achieve superior results. And I have learned to develop both my critical thinking and my learning capacity, skills that are essential for exercising inspirational leadership.”

To all professionals entertaining the idea of doing their MBA at HEC Montréal, I say, without hesitation: “Do it, whatever the nature of your experience. But beware! Give it your utmost, for the more you invest yourself in your MBA, the more you will get out of it.”

Truth be told, Michael Vineberg is a huge fan of the HEC Montréal MBA program. In his opinion, the program is doubtless the best of its kind in the world, with top calibre faculty, a truly unique course of study and students from all walks of life.

The first word which comes to mind to sum up his MBA: impact!

other ambassadors

Michael Vineberg, ambassadeur, MBA 2003

Michael Vineberg, MBA, IAS.A

Président – Portage conseil Inc.

« Je ne peux même pas imaginer faire le travail que je fais présentement sans les outils et l’expérience acquis lors de ma formation MBA. »

Détenteur d’un MBA de HEC Montréal depuis 2003, Michael Vineberg possède plus de vingt ans d’expérience en transformation d’entreprises. En tant que chef d’entreprise, administrateur ou consultant, il a participé au redressement de nombreuses sociétés de manière à favoriser leur expansion.

Fasciné par le monde de la bourse et de l’investissement, Michael Vineberg rêvait de devenir courtier en valeurs mobilières. Mais la vie l’amène dans une tout autre direction. Fraîchement diplômé de l’Université McGill en économie et management, il décroche un premier emploi comme consultant dans ce domaine.  C’est là qu’il fait ses classes, entouré de vrais pros du métier.

L’idée de faire un MBA s’impose tout naturellement lorsqu’un ami lui apprend qu’il vient de s’inscrire au programme. « J’adorais mon travail mais je savais qu’il y avait tellement à apprendre. J’avais raison ! »  Il est particulièrement séduit par le format du programme qui se déroule sur un an, les méthodes d’enseignement fondées sur des études de cas, ainsi que par l’opportunité unique de côtoyer de jeunes professionnels de tous les coins du monde.

Sa formation MBA lui sert à tous les jours. Il la compare à une boîte à outils dans laquelle il puise constamment. « J’aborde les problématiques sous des angles nouveaux avec des résultats supérieurs et j’ai appris à développer ma pensée critique et ma capacité d’écoute, des compétences essentielles pour exercer un leadership mobilisateur. »

À tous les professionnels qui envisagent de faire un MBA à HEC Montréal,  il affirme sans hésiter : « Faites-le, quelle que soit l’expérience que vous avez.  Mais attention! Impliquez-vous à fond car plus vous allez vous investir, plus le MBA va vous donner en retour. »

Michael Vineberg ne s’en cache pas. Il est un grand fan du MBA de HEC Montréal. À son avis, c’est probablement le meilleur programme du genre au monde, avec ses professeurs de haut niveau, son programme de cours tout à fait unique et ses étudiants de tous les horizons.

Le premier mot qui lui vient en tête pour résumer son MBA. Impact !

D’autres ambassadeurs